Home Page

Jargon Buster

Aimhigher - Is a government strategy that aims to widen participation in higher education in the UK, especially for those from deprived areas.

APS: average points score

Attainment - What pupils accomplish.

Citizenship - covers three inter-related areas: social and moral responsibility, community involvement and political literacy.

Curriculum - The National Curriculum sets out the stages and core subjects your child will be taught during his/her time at school. The National Curriculum sets out the subjects taught, the knowledge, skills and understanding required in each subject and standards or attainment targets in each subject.

DfES - Department for Education and Skills: the government department responsible for education and adult skills.

Differentiation - The way in which the school's curriculum and teaching methods are adapted to meet the needs of children.

EAL: English as an additional language

Equal Opportunities - Chance for everyone to participate in school life/curriculum.

Exclusion - Exclusion means that your child may not attend lessons or go on to the school premises for a set period of time, or permanently in the case of permanent exclusion.

EYFS: Early Years Foundation Stage profile

FSM: free school meals

I.C.T. -  Information and Communication Technology ~ refers to the whole area of computers.

Inclusion - A process by which schools, local education authorities and others develop their cultures, policies and practices to include pupils.

INSET -  In-Service Education and Training. INSET days are set aside to allow teachers to update their skills and knowledge in order to raise pupil achievement.

Key Stage - Your child's progress through school is measured in Key Stages. Key Stage 1 covers pupils from 5-7, Key Stage 2 from 7-11

(KS1) Key Stage 1 tasks and tests cover reading; writing; speaking and listening; maths; and science. The tasks and tests are taken when the school chooses in Year 2.

(KS2) Key Stage 2 tests cover English reading; English grammar, punctuation and spelling; maths (including mental arithmetic). The tests are taken in mid-May of Year 6.

L.A. -  Local Authority. A body responsible for providing education for pupils of school age in its area. It also has responsibility for early years, the youth service and adult education.

Learning Difficulty - If a child has a learning difficulty, s/he finds it much harder to learn than most children of the same age. This usually includes Dyslexia, Asperger's and ADHD.

National Curriculum Levels - Assessments of ability at primary and early secondary ages.

Non-teaching or Support staff - Members of school staff employed by the governors to provide services in school other than teaching, such as cleaners, administrators.

NOR: number on roll

OFSTED (Office For Standards in Education) - The body which inspects state-funded schools. OFSTED inspectors produce education reports to help improve schools

PPA - Where teachers are given time out for Planning, Preparation and Assessment Strategies – Good Practice

Progress - Continuous proven improvement

RAISEonline: a document provided by Ofsted which provides data comparing KS1 and KS2 results with national results

Reception – ages 4 and 5

S.E.N.-  Special Educational Needs. Learning difficulties, talents or other needs, for which a child requires special help. One in five children may have some sort of learning difficulty during their school life.

S.E.N.C.O. - Special Educational Needs Co-ordinator. The teacher in a school who is responsible for co-ordinating the extra help for children with special educational needs.

SAT - Standard Assessment Tests taken in Years 2 and 6. (The official name for SATs is National Curriculum tests but you’ll rarely hear it used.)scores are most often given using the following table, with each Level having an A (above average) B (average) C (below average) range within it. As you can see, pupils are expected to have achieved Level 4 by the time they leave Primary school.

Sp.L.D. - A child has a Specific Learning Difficulty if s/he has a problem with one or more areas of the curriculum, usually reading, writing, spelling and/or number work.

Statement - A document that sets out a child's needs and all the extra help (provision) s/he should get.

TA - Teaching Assistant. A qualified adult who assists the class teacher.

Targets - The individual goals set for a child. Targets are a way of checking the child's progress.

Year Groups

Reception - The first year of formal education is called Reception. After that, things get rather predictable, starting at Year 1 (the second year in formal education) and going all the way up to Year 13 when a child is 18. So, the years in English schools run as follows:

Year 1 – ages 5 and 6

Year 2 – ages 6 and 7 (KS1 SATs)

Year 3 – ages 7 and 8

Year 4 – ages 8 and 9

Year 5 – ages 9 and 10

Year 6 – ages 10 and 11 (KS2 SATs)